top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThomas Neumann

Blog #2: Capstone and College Applications

Overall, the Capstone project for my group of 5 and I has been going really well. We so far have found our problem statement after finding common ground on a group of issues to look at which was related to electricity and electrical spending. We have begun researching our problem and different solutions others have developed to solve this problem. We have also found many organizations based around electrical engineering that could mentor us in developing our solution. However, our group has been stumped on how we go about solving the issue since we all have many different approaches.

In the next coming weeks, I anticipate we will have issues in building our solution due to the global pandemic and distance learning. We also have very little experience with programming which is a vital piece to the solution of our problem statement. Additionally, organizations may not choose to help us depending on the solution we develop for the problem or even having trouble with our problem statement.

Besides the Capstone project, college applications have been going very well for me. On September 25th, I had my semi-finalist interview for a full-tuition scholarship called the Posse Scholarship. I have also outlined and have began writing my personal statement for the Common App and I have finished describing my activities and extracurriculars on the UC application. I hope to start writing my Personal Insight Questions for both the Common App and the UC app by next week. However, I wish somebody had told me how time-consuming college applications take since I have had very little time to do my college applications because of all the extracurricular activities that I am doing.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #7: Plans for Next Year and Highlights

As I finish off my high school career begin preparing for the next chapter of my life, I have began considering what I will do in that next chapter. I am excited to announce that next year I will be a

Blog #5: For-Profit Versus For-Benefit Profit

When analyzing the difference between products that are used to make profit versus products that are used to benefit others, we must consider two factors, the types of problems they solve and their ef

bottom of page