top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThomas Neumann

Blog #1: 2020 Summer!

Updated: Mar 8, 2021

I began the Summer of 2020 by taking an online Santa Monica Community College Course on Abnormal Psychology. In this Abnormal Psychology course, I learned about how to use the DSM and ICD, several types of psychopathology, theoretical perspectives on those disorders, and how to treat each disorder. Overall, this course has aided me in deciding what type of major I want to pursue, which is neuro-engineering.


In addition, I worked on my college applications in order to get ahead and not worry about them during the school year. I entered a scholarship known as the Posse Scholarship and I have entered round 2 of interviewing. I also joined a nonprofit STEM organization called The Helyx Initiative which educates and offers research opportunities to students. I eventually became a chapter president at SAMOHI and began developing chemistry curriculum for the Florida Helyx Initiative chapter. Besides academics and extracurricular activities, I played video games such as Minecraft with my friends and read several books.


I am the most excited for the new opportunities my class will be taking in order to compensate for the stay-at-home orders preventing us from going to the JPL competition. In addition, I am excited to perform research on a issue and develop solutions to this problem. In general, I am most excited about studying more about neuroscience and psychology and ways that I can help the community and the world around me.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog #7: Plans for Next Year and Highlights

As I finish off my high school career begin preparing for the next chapter of my life, I have began considering what I will do in that next chapter. I am excited to announce that next year I will be a

Blog #5: For-Profit Versus For-Benefit Profit

When analyzing the difference between products that are used to make profit versus products that are used to benefit others, we must consider two factors, the types of problems they solve and their ef

bottom of page